Amid Opposition show of strength, H D Kumaraswamy, G Parameshwara take oath as Karnataka Chief minister, deputy CM

Non-BJP political leaders from across the country have descended to Bengaluru to be part of the swearing in ceremony.

Published: 23rd May 2018 02:32 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd May 2018 06:39 PM   |  A+A-

HD Kumaraswamy swears-in as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka in the presences of several leaders from cross the country outside the Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru on Wednesday. (Express photo | Vinod Kumar T)

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: On the grand steps of Karnataka's power corridor Vidhana Soudha, JD(S) state President HD Kumaraswamy took oath as the 25th Chief Minister today. KPCC President Dr G Parameshwara was also sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister in tandem with the coalition partners' power-sharing formula. 

A galaxy of political leaders from across the country arrived in Bengaluru to be part of the swearing in ceremony in a first of it's kind coming together of non-BJP parties. Leaders like Mayawati, Mamta Banerjee, Pinarayi Vijayan,  Akhilesh Yadav, Tejaswi Yadav, Chandrababu Naidu, D Raja apart from Sonia and Rahul Gandhi were invitees for the event. While Sonia and Rahul Gandhi are scheduled to meet legislators of the party headed in a hotel since counting day to express their appreciation for keeping unity. 

05:57 May 23

Karnataka floor test on May 25

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy to seek trust votes.

05:27 May 23

Rajnath Singh extends his wishes

04:53 May 23
04:48 May 23
04:38 May 23
04:35 May 23

Congress' G.Parameshwara takes oath as Deputy CM

04:31 May 23
04:31 May 23

Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi arrive at Vidhana Soudha for HD Kumaraswamy and G.Parameshwara's swearing in as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister respectively.

04:26 May 23
04:24 May 23
04:24 May 23

JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy arrives at Vidhana Soudha for his swearing-in ceremony as Karnataka CM.

04:24 May 23

Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda at Vidhan Soudha

04:21 May 23

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu and CPI(M)'s Sitaram Yechury met, ahead of attending HD Kumaraswamy's swearing-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka.

04:20 May 23
04:18 May 23
04:18 May 23

Bengaluru receives heavy rainfall ahead of swearing-in

Heavy rainfall lashed the city ahead of the oath taking ceremony. Though the initial rainfall between 2.15 to 3 pm disrupted the scheduled event, more showers are expected during the day. The city has still been recording showers. Karnataka State Natural Disaster Monitoring Cell too had forecast showers during the evening, indicating that the swearing-in could be hit by rainfall.

04:14 May 23

'We're here to strengthen all regional parties'

04:13 May 23

All is well: DK Shivakumar

No one is unhappy, we all are together. We are celebrating that our government is coming in power. I never said that I'm an aspirant of Karnataka Chief Minister post. All is well: Congress leader DK Shivakumar tells media. 

04:12 May 23

BJP observes Anti-BJP Mandate Day

04:11 May 23

All the promises made in the manifesto will be implemented. Safeguarding the interest of the farming community is our top priority: Karnataka CM designate HD Kumaraswamy told media earlier in the day. 

Read here

04:10 May 23

Shiv Sena had received invitation too (for HD Kumaraswamy's swearing-in ceremony), HD Deve Gowda ji invited Uddhav ji hoping someone from us would come but all of us are busy for Palghar Lok Sabha By-Election. So we can't go but our best wishes are with him: Sanjay Raut,Shiv Sena told ANI.

04:08 May 23

JD(S) supremo H D Devegowda arranged a Special Pooja for Kumaraswamy in Bengaluru.

04:08 May 23

Chief Minister designate H D Kumaraswamy visited temples along with his family ahead of the swearing in ceremony. Kumaraswamy offered special prayers at Mysuru's famous Chamundeshwari temple before stopping at a temple in Ramanagara. 

04:08 May 23

Elaborate arrangements have been made at the Vidhana soudha's campus for the swearing-in ceremony.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp