Karnataka bypoll results HIGHLIGHTS | BJP wins 12 seats; Congress top leadership steps down

The win means the BS Yediyurappa-led government is now safe for the rest of its tenure.

Published: 09th December 2019 07:51 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th December 2019 05:31 PM   |  A+A-

Karnataka bypoll

BJP supporters celebrate after the party won in 12 out of 15 assembly constituencies. (Photo| PTI)

By Online Desk

The ruling BJP on Monday bagged 12 seats, more than the six it needed to retain a majority in the Karnataka Assembly. The win means the BS Yediyurappa-led government is now safe for the rest of its tenure.

The BJP needed to win at least six of the 15 seats to remain in majority in the 225-member assembly (including the Speaker, who has a casting vote), which would still have two vacant seats -- Maski and R R Nagar, where byelections are yet to be declared owing to election-related petitions pending in court.

The Congress, which held 12 of the 15 seats where the bypolls were held, managed to win only in two seats -- Hunsur and Shivajinagar.

READ| Mandate in Karnataka stolen through back door; people taught Congress a lesson: PM Modi

The counting of votes polled in the December 5 polls, which saw a voter turnout of 67.91 per cent, began at 8 am in 11 centres.

The bypolls were held to fill vacancies caused by the disqualification of 17 rebel Congress and JD(S) MLAs, whose revolt led to the collapse of the 14-month-old H D Kumaraswamy-led coalition government in July and paved the way for BJP to come to power.

(With Agency inputs) 

Stay up to date on all the latest LIVE news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp