Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards announced

Published: 25th December 2012 09:31 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th December 2012 09:31 AM   |  A+A-

Violinist N Rajam and percussionist T H Vinayakram are among the three eminent artists chosen by the Sangeet Natak Akademi as its fellows. Theatre personality from Manipur Rattan Thiyam is the third recipient of this honour.

From the the field of dance, nine practitioners have been chosen for the award. They are Priyadarsini Govind (bharatanatyam), Vijay Shankar (kathak), Vazhengada Vijayan (kathakali), Vedantam Ramalinga Sastry (kuchipudi), Sharmila Biswas (odissi), Jai Narayan Samal (chhau), Painkulam Damodara Chakyar (kutiyattam), Jwala Prasad (music for dance) and Aditi Mangaldas (creative & experimental dance).

In the field of Theatre, eight eminent artists have been selected for Akademi Awards 2012.

They include Arjun DeoCharan for playwriting, Tripurari Sharma and Waman Kendre for direction, Parvesh Sethi, Nirmal Rishi and Purisai Kannappa Sambandan for acting, Murari Roychoudhury for theatre music and Ghulam Rasool Bhagat in the major traditions of theatre category.

Apart from Goru Channabasappa (Karnataka), seven artistes have also been selected in the folk category.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp