NCTC: BJP, Left amendments defeated in RS

While SP and BSP members voted with the government, Trinamool MPs were not present in the house.

Published: 20th March 2012 01:16 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 06:38 PM   |  A+A-


PTI file photo

NEW DELHI: With help from the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and ally Trinamool Congress, the government Tuesday defeated the opposition backed amendments on the National Counter Terrorism Centre (NCTC) in the Rajya Sabha despite lacking majority in the house.

While members of the SP and BSP voted with the government, Trinamool Congress MPs, a party vocal in its opposition to NCTC in its present form, were not present in the house during voting.

The amendments were pressed by the opposition, including the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), even as Prime Minister Manmohan Singh assured members of the upper house in his reply to the debate on the motion of thanks to the president's address that efforts would be made to evolve a consensus on the anti-terror hub.

Chief ministers would be consulted on NCTC, he reiterated.

But soon after the prime minister's reply, opposition members were on their feet, demanding an assurance that the government would proceed with the NCTC only with the consent of the chief ministers.

BJP and Left leaders indicated they may not press their amendments to the president's speech, on March 12 to joint houses of parliament, if such an assurance came from the prime minister.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister P.K. Bansal told the opposition that the prime minister had already said that chief ministers would be consulted and there would be no infringement of the federal structure.

With the opposition parties not withdrawing their amendments despite assurances from the government, Deputy Chairman K. Rahman Khan called for division.

The government seemed to pass through some anxious moments before the deputy chairman announced that 82 members had voted in favour of the amendments on the proposed anti-terror hub and 105 against them.

Trinamool Congress is a constituent of ruling Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) while SP and BSP support it from outside.

After the result was announced, BJP, Left and Biju Janata Dal MPs walked out protesting against the government not giving assurances on their demands concerning the NCTC.

Earlier, Leader of Opposition Arun Jaitley (BJP) sought an assurance from prime minister that the entry of central forces working under NCTC would not happen "without the consent or knowledge of states".

CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury said the prime minister should promise that the government will proceed with the NCTC only after taking chief ministers on board and "with their agreement".

While the Rajya Sabha Tuesday adopted the motion of thanks to the president's address, the Lok Sabha had done the same Monday.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp