Mamata’s cabinet rejig: Eight new ministers inducted

Published: 22nd November 2012 10:18 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd November 2012 10:18 AM   |  A+A-


West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, on Wednesday, expanded her Cabinet by inducting eight new ministers. Keeping an eye on the upcoming Panchayat polls, Mamata ensured due representation for rural Bengal in her ministry. With the reshuffle, the Cabinet strength now stands at 44.

Becharam Manna, who led the TMC agitation against the CPM and Tata Motors in Singur, is the new agriculture minister. Other new faces include Monturam Pakhira, Giasuddin Mollah, Rajib Banerjee, Swapan Debnath and Pundarikaksha Saha.

Mamata took the opportunity to fill the  vacancies left by Congress ministers, after they parted ways with the TMC in a quid pro quo move after she quit UPA-II. Two rebel Congress MLAs, Krishnendu Narayan Chowdhury and Humayun Kabir, who formally joined the TMC on Tuesday, received cabinet berths.

While Chowdhury,from English Bazar in Malda, got a Cabinet berth, Kabir, from Reginagar in Murshidabad, became a Minister of State (Mos). Both leaders could provide arsenal against the newly-elected Union Ministers from Bengal Congress viz., Deepa Dasmunsi, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury, and could help the TMC make inroads into Congress bastions.

Mamata meted out rewards and punishments in equal measure. Five ministers, including Madan Mitra, Manjulkrishna Thakur, Subrata Saha and Aroop Biswas, were elevated to Cabinet ranks. She gave up the health portfolio and accorded Chandrima Bhattacharya, who was MoS for Health, independent charge.

Rabindranath Bhattacharya and Shyamal Mandal faced the axe for their lacklustre performances. West Bengal Governor M K Narayanan administered the oath of office to 13 ministers at the Raj Bhavan here.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp