Akhilesh allots portfolios to new ministers

Published: 10th February 2013 08:47 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th February 2013 10:27 AM   |  A+A-


Akhilesh Yadav. (File Photo: PTI )


Two days after the first cabinet expansion of the 11-month-old Samajwadi Party-led Uttar Pradesh government, Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav Saturday night allotted portfolios to new ministers and reshuffled the work of some colleagues.

Cabinet minister Raghuraj Pratap Singh 'Raja Bhaiyya' lost the charge of prisons, which went to party spokesman Rajendra Chowdhary, sowrn in as a cabinet minister.

Senior minister Raja Aridaman Singh was divested of the transport portfolio and was moved to the stamp, registration and civil defence department.

Om Prakash Singh was made the tourism minister while ministers like Parasnath Yadav, Durga Prasad Yadav, Raj Kishore Singh, Iqbal Mahmood, Abhishek Mishra, Ram Pal Rajvanshi also lost some departments and the chief minister relieved himself of the additional energy sources portfolio.

"The ministers who have lost some departments were eased out owing to their lackluster performance," a Samajwadi Party functionary told IANS.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp