Counting begins in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura

Published: 28th February 2013 08:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th February 2013 08:48 AM   |  A+A-


Counting of votes for 60 Assembly seats of Meghalaya, polling for which was held on February 23, began at 8 AM today amidst tight security.

"Counting will continue till all results are announced, hopefully before noon," Chief Electoral Officer P Naik told PTI here.

The CEO has already directed the district-level officers to ensure fool proof security in and around counting centres.

He said 100 metre periphery of all the 13 counting centres in the state have been declared no-vehicle zone.

Prominent leaders among the total 345 candidates whose fate would be decided today are HSPDP President Hopingstone Lyngdoh, who had never lost a single elections since Meghalaya attained statehood in 1972, besides four former Chief Ministers, including Mukul Sangma of the outgoing house.

The three other Chief Ministers are D D Lapang, who is also the state Congress President, S C Marak and United Democratic Party Chief Donkupar Roy.

Other prominent candidates are Mukul Sangma's wife D D Shira, National Peoples Party chief and former Speaker P A Sangma's two sons Conrad and James.

Counting begins in Nagaland

Kohima: Counting of votes for 59 of the 60 Assembly seats in Nagaland began at 8 AM today.

CEO Nagaland J Alam told PTI that counting is being held in 12 districts, including Pughoboto electoral district.

A total of 59 halls have been provided for counting in the districts with three-tier security layer in each.

Over 10,000 counting personnel, including counting supervisors and counting assistants, are engaged in the counting process along with micro observers and Election Commission appointed observers.

Among those whose electoral fortunes will be decided today are Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie, opposition leader Tokheho Yepthomi, state Congress President S I Jamir and former Home Minister Imkong L Imchen.

In consonance with an Election Commission directive, the international border has been sealed.

The entire process will be videographed, he said.

Polling in Tuensang sadar seat was countermanded following the death of Congress candidate and MLA P Chuba Chang just a day before the election on February 23.

Counting begins in Tripura

Agartala: Counting of votes for the 60 Assembly seats in Tripura began at 8 AM this morning amidst tight security.

The counting began at 17 venues in eight districts of the state with three-tier security in each counting hall, sources in the office of Chief Electoral Officer said.

Among prominent candidates whose electoral fates would be decided are Chief Minister Manik Sarkar from Dhanpur, Finance Minister Badal Chowdhury from Hrishyamukh, Higher Education Minister Anil Sarkar from Pratapgarh, Industries and Commerce Minister Jitendra Chowdhury from Manu (ST).

The electoral fortunes of TPCC President Sudip Ray Barman from Agartala, Leader of the Opposition Ratan Lal Nath of Congress from Mohanpur and President of the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura Bijay Hrankhwal from Ambassa would also be decided.

Around 2,500 employees, including counting supervisors and counting assistants, have been engaged together with micro observers and Election Commission appointed observers.

Prohibitory orders have been imposed within 100 meter of each counting hall where CCTV have been installed.

The 856 km border with neighbouring Bangladesh has been sealed since yesterday.

The elections were held on February 14.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp