TMC wins Howrah Lok Sabha by-poll

Published: 05th June 2013 12:46 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th June 2013 03:16 PM   |  A+A-


Trinamool Congress candidate Prasun Banerjee today won the Howrah Lok Sabha seat in a bye-election defeating his nearest rival, CPI(M) candidate Sridip Bhattacherjee, by over 27,000 votes.

Though official results were still to be declared, Election Commission sources said that Prasun Banerjee secured 4,26,273 votes and Sridip Bhattacherjee 3,99,258 votes. Congress candidate Sanatan Mukherjee was in third spot polling 96,727 votes.

The sources said that counting of 300 votes in one EVM which developed a technical malfunction would be taken up before the official declaration of the result. The seat fell vacant following the death of TMC MP Ambika Banerjee.

Senior TMC leader and Panchayat Minister Subrata Mukherjee told reporters that the poll result would give a

boost to the party before next month's crucial panchayat elections.

The result prove that people reposed their faith on the performance of Mamata Banerjee government in the past two years, he also said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp