Kanimozhi, Raja elected to Rajya Sabha

Published: 27th June 2013 06:25 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th June 2013 07:07 PM   |  A+A-


DMK's Kanimozhi, CPI's D. Raja and four AIADMK candidates were Thursday declared elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

The four victorious AIADMK candidates are K.R. Arjunan, R. Lakshmanan, V. Maitreyan and T. Rathnavelu.

Maitreyan, Raja and Kanimozhi were re-contesting their seats.

DMDK's A.R. Elangovan lost the election, with just 22 votes as against the 34 needed to be elected. While the party has 29 legislators, seven had turned rebel and did not vote for the party nominee.

While Raja of the Communist Party of India was supported by the ruling AIAMDK and the Communist Party of India-Marxist, the DMK, which had 23 legislators, was supported by Congress (5 legislators), and the Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (MMK) and Puthiya Tamizhagam (PT) having two legislators each.

The poll saw 231 members of the 235-member assembly voting with PMK, having three legislators, boycotting the elections. One vote was declared as invalid.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp