TN: Polling for Rajya Sabha seats ends

Polling for the second phase of Mandi parliamentary constituency began Thursday in Himachal Pradesh\'s rain-ravaged Kinnaur district.

Published: 27th June 2013 10:11 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th June 2013 04:51 PM   |  A+A-


Polling to fill up six Rajya Sabha vacancies in Tamil Nadu ended today. A total of 231 of the 234 MLAs of the Tamil Nadu assembly cast their votes by 1.43 PM, official sources said. The three PMK MLAs abstained from voting.

Chief Minister Jayalalithaa (Srirangam), DMK leader M Karunanidhi (Thiruvarur), whose daughter Kanimozhi is seeking a second term, his son M K Stalin (Kolathur) and Vijayakant (Rishivanthiyam) were some prominent legislators who cast their votes in the State Secretariat.

Counting will take place this evening after the 4 PM deadline for voting ends.

Most MLAs, including Vijayakant, were first time voters as the election is being held after a 17 year gap.

AIADMK has fielded four candidates, including Dr V Maithreyan even as it extended support to CPI's D Raja.

Seven dissident DMDK MLAs voted seperately.

Earlier, the ballot paper of CPI(M) MLA K Balabarathy was changed after she complained of a smudge on the sheet.

Observer Praveen Kumar showed the ballot paper to the agents of political parties present in the polling hall and the woman MLA was given a fresh ballot paper.

DMDK MLA Arun Subramaniam was reprimanded by officials when he displayed his ballot paper to his party's agent from a distance, with officials asking him to go near his party colleague and show the paper before casting it in the box.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp