Yeddyurappa’s KJP bites dust in first polls

Published: 09th May 2013 08:33 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th May 2013 08:33 AM   |  A+A-

The decisive verdict for the Congress and the Karnataka Janata Party’s rout demonstrated that the people of Karnataka have simply refused to take note of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa’s party.

The fact that the KJP managed to win just six out of 217 seats it contested demonstrates the magnitude of the loss the Lingayat leader has suffered. Still worse is, Yeddyurappa cannot even stake claim on these seats too as most of them -- B R Patil (Aland), Gurupadappa Nagamarapalli (Bidar), Vishwanath Patil (Bailhongal), U B Banakar (Hirekerur) and Guru Patil Shiraval (Shahapur) -- have won on their individual capacities, not because of Yeddyurappa’s clout. Interestingly, none of the BJP MLAs including his close aide Shobha Karandlaje, C M Udasi and Sunil Vallyapure who went with Yeddyurappa deserting the BJP got the support of the voters. As many as 15 MLAs had joined the KJP. The humiliating defeat of Yeddyurappa’s party yet again proved that there is no place in Karnataka for the parties that are borne out of individual’s ‘me first’ attitude or their ambitions.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp