It’s official. VS to stay as Opposition leader

Published: 14th May 2013 07:47 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th May 2013 07:47 AM   |  A+A-

Now, it’s official. CPM Leader V S Achuthanandan will continue as the Opposition Leader in the State Assembly, announced CPM general secretary Prakash Karat after the Politburo meeting in New Delhi on Monday.

Karat said that a six-member panel has been appointed to examine some issues raised by the state leadership. The panel includes Karat, S Ramachandran Pillai, Sitaram Yechury, Nirupam Sen, V B Raghavalu and A K Padmanabhan, all PB members. Karat also made it clear that the Central Committee has approved the expulsion of VS’ aides K Balakrishnan, V K Sasidharan and A Suresh. “Once they are out of the party, they can’t continue as it was the party which appointed them and it is not a government job”, he said.

The fourth person to be expelled from the party is S P Sreedharan, former deputy general manager of ‘Deshabhimani’. A party panel had reported that the sexual abuse charge against CPM state committee member K Varadarajan was fabricated by Sreedharan.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp