Incident-Free Polling in Jharkhand, About 30% Polling Till 11AM

Published: 14th December 2014 01:41 PM  |   Last Updated: 14th December 2014 01:42 PM   |  A+A-


A security person stands guard as people wait to cast votes at a polling station during second phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections in Khunti on Tuesday | PTI


RANCHI: Over 30 per cent turnout was recorded in the first four hours of polling in 15 Assembly constituencies of Jharkhand where the penultimate round of the five-phase elections is going on peacefully.

Sindri registered the highest voter turnout of 40 per cent followed by Tundi (39%) and Chandankyari (37.18%), Election Commission said.

The lowest percentage was recorded at Jamua (23%) and Bokaro (24.53%).

The percentage recorded at Deogarh was 31.37 per cent, Giridih 27.76 per cent, Dhanbad 33.52 per cent, Madhupur 33 per cent, Bagodar 32 per cent, Gandey 27.34 per cent, Dumri 27.83 per cent, Nirsa 35 per cent, Jharia 30 per cent and Baghmara (34).

>>Jharkhand Records Over 13% Polling Till 9 AM 

At Pirtand in Giridih Assembly constituency where Maoists posters asking the voters to boycott the polls had been removed, polling has picked up there.

In Giridih town which experienced a slight drizzle at around 10.30 AM, polling has not yet picked up, officials said.

A total of 43,48,709 voters are eligible to decide the fate of 217 candidates, including 16 women, today.

Former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi is among the 13 candidates in the fray from Giridih seat.

Three incumbent ministers Mannan Mallick (Congress, Dhanbad), Suresh Paswan (RJD, Deogarh) and Haji Hussain Ansari (JMM, Madhupur) are in the electoral race today besides 11 MLAs who are seeking re-election.

Polling will end at 3 PM in Madhupur, Deogarh (SC), Bagodar, Jamua (SC), Gandey, Giridih, Dumri, Chandankyari (SC), Sindri, Nirsa, Jharia, Tundi and Baghmara constituencies while it will continue upto 5 PM in Dhanbad and Bokaro constitutencies.

>> Poll Begins in 15 Jharkhand Seats in 4th Phase

Polling to 50 of the 81 seats has already been held in the previous three phases, which passed off peacefully.

The fifth and final phase for 16 seats is scheduled on December 20 and counting is on December 23.

This is the third Assembly election in Jharkhand after it was carved out of Bihar in 2000.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp