Four Rebel JD(U) MLAs Expelled from Assembly

Published: 28th December 2014 06:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th December 2014 06:08 AM   |  A+A-

PATNA: Bihar Assembly speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary on Saturday disqualified four JD(U)MLAs for “anti-party activities”, including cross voting in the Rajya Sabha election.

The disqualified Bihar MLAs are Ajit Kumar from Kanti, Suresh Chanchal from Sakra, Poonam Devi from Digha and Raju Kumar Singh from Sohebganj.

Assembly secretary in-charge Hareram Mukhiya said that all four MLAs were disqualified under the provisions of the anti-defection law. The disqualified members had voted against the party candidates along with some other MLAs in last Rajya Sabha elections.

However, the JD(U) had won both the Rajya Sabha seats with the support of RJD MLAs. Earlier, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Shrawan Kumar recommended termination of all 18 members who had voted against the party candidate.

The Speaker had earlier disqualified four other party MLAs -- Gyanendra Singh Gyanu, Neeraj Singh Bablu, Ravindra Rai and Rahul Sharma -- on same charges last month. Meanwhile, disqualified MLA Suresh Chanchal accused the Speaker of “partisan attitude”.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp