Raghubar Das Takes Oath as Chief Minister of Jharkhand

Published: 28th December 2014 11:32 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th December 2014 12:49 PM   |  A+A-


RANCHI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Raghubar Das became the first non-tribal to take oath Sunday as the chief minister of Jharkhand.

Governor Syed Ahmad administered the oath of office and secrecy to Das, 60, at a football stadium here.

Four ministers -- three from the BJP and one from the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) -- also took oath.

The BJP ministers are Neelkanth Singh Munda, C.P. Singh and Louis Marandi.

Marandi defeated outgoing chief minister Hemant Soren at Dumka. The AJSU representative in the ministry is Chandra Prakash Chaudhary.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi could not attend the ceremony due to a thick fog in New Delhi. Home Minister Rajnath Singh too failed to make it, also due to bad weather.

        >>Read: Modi Misses Jharkhand Oath Taking Due to Fog


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp