Two Members Give Notice For No-confidence Motion Against Government

Published: 06th February 2014 12:49 PM  |   Last Updated: 06th February 2014 12:49 PM   |  A+A-


In more problems for the Congress on the Telangana issue, a Congress and a TDP member today gave notices for a no-confidence motion against the Manmohan Singh government over its plan to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.    

Sabbam Hari (Congress) and M Venugopala Reddy (TDP) gave the notices shortly before the Lok Sabha met for the day, a day after Telangana issue rocked Parliament with those for and against formation of the new state demonstrating for their respective cause.           

The two MPs separately confirmed giving notices for no-confidence motion.        

In December last, six Congress MPs from Seemandhra region had given notice for moving a no confidence motion against the Manmohan Singh government.       

Any move to bring a no confidence motion requires the support of some 50 odd members — ten per cent of the membership of the House.            

The 15th Lok Sabha has not yet witnessed any no confidence motion. A plan by Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress to bring it over a year back came a cropper as it failed to find the requisite support. Trinamool has 19 members in Lok Sabha.        

The MPs from Seemandhra, as well as those from the TDP, have been protesting the division of Andhra Pradesh in the House.       

Telangana issue had rocked both Houses of Parliament on the first day of the extended Winter Session yesterday, leading to adjournment of the Lok Sabha for the day and repeated adjournments of Rajya Sabha.          

Both the Houses saw noisy scenes as soon as they met for the day with members from Andhra Pradesh -- from Telangana as well as Seemandhra regions -- cutting across party lines storming the Well. Those protesting included members from ruling Congress.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp