List of 73 New Trains Announced in the Railway Budget

Published: 12th February 2014 10:32 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th February 2014 10:41 PM   |  A+A-


Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge has announced the launch of 73 new trains in the interim railway budget, 2014-15, comprising 17 Premium trains, 39 Express trains, 10 Passenger trains, 4 MEMU and 3 DEMU.

Here is a list:

Premium Trains

Howrah – Pune AC Express (Bi-weekly) via Nagpur, Manmad;

Kamakhya – New Delhi AC Express (Weekly) via Chhapra, Varanasi;

Kamakhya – Chennai AC Express (Weekly) via Malda, Howrah;

Mumbai – Howrah AC Express (Bi-weekly) via Nagpur, Raipur;

Mumbai – Patna AC Express (Bi-weekly) via Khandwa, Itarsi,Manikpur;

Nizamuddin – Madgaon AC Express (Bi-weekly) via Kota,Vasai Road;

Sealdah –Jodhpur AC Express (Bi-weekly) via Mughalsarai;

Yesvantpur - Jaipur AC Express (Weekly) via Gulbarga, Pune, Vasai Road;

Ahmedabad – Delhi Sarai Rohilla Express (Tri-weekly) viaPalanpur, Ajmer, Rewari;

Bandra – Amritsar Express (Weekly) Via Kota, New Delhi, Ambala;

Bandra (T) – Katra Express (Weekly) via Kota, New Delhi, Ambala;

Gorakhpur – New Delhi Express (Bi-weekly) via Lucknow, Moradabad;

Katra – Howrah Express (Weekly) Express via Mughalsarai, Varanasi, Saharanpur;

Mumbai – Gorakhpur Express ( Bi-weekly) via Khandwa, Jhansi, Kanpur;

Patna– Bangalore Express (Weekly) via Mughalsarai, Chheoki, Manikpur, Nagpur;

Yesvantpur – Katra Express (Weekly) via Gulbarga, Kacheguda, Nagpur, New Delhi; and,

Thiruvananthpuram – Bangalore (Yesvantpur) Express (Bi-weekly) via Erode, Tirupattur.


Express Trains

Ahmedabad – Katra Express (Weekly) via Palanpur, Jaipur, Rewari, Hisar, Bathinda, Amritsar;

Ahmedabad – Lucknow Jn Express (Weekly) via Palanpur, Jaipur, Bandikui, Mathura, Kasganj;

Ahmedabad – Allahabad Express (Weekly) via Jalgaon, Khandwa, Itarsi, Satna, Manikpur;

Amritsar – Gorakhpur Express (Weekly) via Saharanpur, Moradabad, Sitapur Cantt;

Aurangabad – Renigunta Express (Weekly) via Parbhani, Bidar, Vikarabad;

Bangalore – Chennai Express (Daily) via Bangarpet, Jolarpettai;

Bandra (T) – Lucknow Jn Express (Weekly) via Kota, Mathura, Kasganj;

Bareilly – Bhopal Express (Weekly) via Chandausi, Aligarh, Tundla, Agra;

Bhavnagar – Bandra Express (Weekly) via Ahmedabad;

Bhavnagar- Delhi Sarai Rohilla Link Express (Weekly);

Gandhidham – Puri Express (Weekly);

Gorakhpur – Pune Express (Weekly) via Lucknow, Kanpur, Bina, Manmad;

Guntur-Kacheguda Double Decker Express (Bi-weekly);

Howrah – Yeswantpur AC Express (Weekly)via Bhubaneswar, Gudur, Katpadi;

Hubli – Mumbai Express (weekly) via Bijapur, Sholapur;

Hyderabad – Gulbarga Intercity (Daily);

Jaipur – Chandigarh Intercity (Daily) via Jhajjar;

Kacheguda – Tirupati Double Decker Express (Bi Weekly);

Kota – Jammu Tawi Express (Weekly) via New Delhi, Ambala;

Kanpur – Bandra (T) Express (Weekly) via Kasganj, Mathura, Kota;

Lucknow – Kathgodam Express (Tri-weekly);

Manduadih – Jabalpur Express (Weekly) via Allahabad, Manikpur, Satna;

Malda Town – Anand Vihar Express (Weekly) via Amethi and Rae Bareli;

Mannargudi – Jodhpur Express (Weekly) via Jaipur;

Mumbai – Chennai Express (Weekly) via Pune, Gulbarga, Wadi;

Mumbai – Gorakhpur Express (Weekly) via Gonda, Balrampur, Barhani (after gauge conversion);

Mumbai – Karmali AC Express (Weekly) via Roha;

Nanded – Aurangabad Express (Weekly) via Purna, Parbhani;

Nagpur – Rewa Express (Weekly) via Satna;

Nagercoil – Kacheguda Express (Weekly) via Karur, Namakkal, Salem;

Pune – Lucknow Express (Weekly) via Khandwa, Bhopal, Bina, Jhansi, Kanpur;

Ramnagar – Chandigarh Express (Weekly) via Moradabad, Saharanpur;

Ranchi – New Jalpaiguri Express (Weekly) via Jhajha, Katihar;

Secunderabad – Visakhapatnam AC Express (Weekly) via Kazipeth, Vijaywada;

Santragachi – Anandvihar Express (Weekly);

Sriganganagar – Jammu Tawi Express (Weekly) via Abohar, Bathinda, Dhuri;

Thiruvananathapuram-Nizamuddin Express (Bi-weekly, one day via Kottayam and one day via Allepey);

Varanasi – Mysore Express (Bi-weekly) via Wadi, Daund;

Balurghat-Howrah Express (Bi-weekly).

Passenger trains

Bina – Katni Passenger (Daily);

Dekargaon – Naharlagun Passenger (Daily) after completion of new line;

Gunupur - Visakhapatnam Passenger (Daily);

Hubli - Belgaum Fast Passenger (Daily);

Jaipur – Phulera Passenger (Daily);

Mannargudi – Mayiladuthurai Passenger (Daily);

Punalur – Kanniyakumari Passenger (Daily) via Kollam, Thiruvananthapuram;

Sambalpur – Bhawanipatna Passenger (Daily);

Tatanagar – Chakulia Passenger (Daily);

Tiruchendur – Tirunelveli Passenger (Daily);


MEMU Trains

Anand – Dakor (Daily 2 services);

Anuppur-Ambikapur (6 days a week);

Delhi – Rohtak Passenger (Daily 2 services);

Santragachi – Jhargram (5 days a week)


DEMU Trains

Morbi – Maliya Miyana;

Ratlam – Fatehabad Chandrawati Ganj (Daily) after gauge conversion;

Rewari – Rohtak (Daily);


Extension of Trains

14705/14706 Delhi Sarai Rohilla – Sujangarh Express to Jodhpur;

15281/15282 Patna – Saharsa Express to Murliganj;

15013/15014 Kathgodam – Bhagat Ki Kothi Ranikhet Express to Jaisalmer


Increase in Frequency

16571/16572 Bidar – Yesvantpur Express 3 days to daily;

17225/17226 Hubli – Vijayawada Express from 3 days to daily;

17319/17320 Hubli – Secunderabad Express from 3 days to daily.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp