AAP Releases First List of 20 Candidates for LS Polls

Published: 16th February 2014 06:30 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th February 2014 07:19 PM   |  A+A-


Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) today released its first list of 20 candidates for Lok Sabha elections, pitting Kumar Vishwas from Amethi, Rahul Gandhi's seat, and former banker Meera Sanyal and social activist Medha Patkar from Mumbai.

The list, which came two days after AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal quit as Delhi Chief Minister, carries names of candidates from Delhi (2), Uttar Pradesh (7), Maharashtra (6), Haryana, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab -- one each.

AAP has not, however, announced any candidate in Rae Bareli, the pocket borough of Congress President Sonia Gandhi.

TV journalist-turned-politician Ashutosh will contest from Chandni Chowk seat in Delhi held by Union Minister Kapil Sibal.

AAP has given ticket to former scribe Mukul Tripathi for Farukhabad seat in Uttar Pradesh, the constituency of another Union Minister Salman Khurshid.

Advocate H S Phoolka will contest from Ludhiana, currently held by I and B Minister Manish Tewari, while activist Hardev Singh has been given ticket in Mulayam Singh Yadav's stronghold Mainpuri.

AAP has fielded anti-corruption activist Anjali Damania from Nagpur against former BJP National President Nitin Gadkari.

"Our main motto is to send honest people to Parliament. We do not want to send criminals, people with dynastic background. We will soon release the list of candidates for other seats," senior party leader Manish Sisodia told reporters here.

Somendra Dhaka, a peasant leader, will contest from Baghpat in Uttar Pradesh, a seat represented by Union Minister and Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh.

Sanyal, former CEO and Chairperson of RBS India, will contest from South Mumbai, a seat currently represented by Union Minister Milind Deora.

Social worker Patkar has been fielded from North East Mumbai, an NCP seat.

Also read:

Patkar May Make it More Difficult for NCP to Retain Mumbai-NE 

Arvind Kejriwal: 49 Days of Adrenaline-pumping; Will It Return? 

AAP to Contest LS Polls Under Kejriwal's Leadership

Kejriwal Seeks Fresh Elections in Delhi

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp