Dhir Elected Delhi Assembly Speaker

Published: 03rd January 2014 02:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd January 2014 04:22 PM   |  A+A-


A day after Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal proved his majority in the Delhi assembly, AAP's M.S. Dhir was Friday elected speaker of the house.

A chief warden in the civil defence, Dhir defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party's Jagdish Mukhi 37-32 in the 70-member legislature - the same margin by which the Aam Aadmi Party government won the trust vote Thursday.

Dhir, formerly of the State Trading Corp, got the backing of his own party (28 members), Congress (seven), the sole Janata Dal-United member as well as an independent.

The eighth Congress legislator, Mateen Ahmed, was in the chair and didn't vote.

Mukhi got the backing of the BJP's 31 legislators and the Akali Dal which has one member.

A legislator from Jangpura, Dhir defeated Tarvinder Singh Marwah of the Congress by 1,744votes in the Delhi election.

A minority AAP government took office Dec 28 after elections threw up a fractured mandate. The AAP formed a government after the BJP refused to, citing its lack of majority support.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp