Digvijaya, Mistry Among 9 Congress Rajya Sabha Nominees

Published: 27th January 2014 09:17 PM  |   Last Updated: 30th January 2014 05:34 PM   |  A+A-


Congress general secretaries Digvijaya Singh and Madhusudan Mistry figure in the list of nine party candidates released Monday for the ensuing biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha. Singh and Mistry will contest from Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat respectively.

A party release said that Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the list that also includes party treasurer Motilal Vora as a candidate from Chhattisgarh.

Other Congress candidates are Viplove Thakur (Himachal Pradesh), K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao, M.A. Khan, T. Subbarami Reddy (all from Andhra Pradesh), Murli Deora and Husain Umar Dalwai (Maharashtra), Haji Abdul Salam (Manipur), Wansuk Syiem (Meghalaya), and Ranjib Biswal (Odisha).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp