Haryana Assembly Session From February 21

Published: 29th January 2014 06:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th January 2014 06:58 PM   |  A+A-


The budget session of the Haryana Assembly will be held from February 21, an official spokesman of the government said today.           

The decision was taken at a meeting of the state cabinet presided by Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda here, the spokesman said, adding that the detailed agenda for the session would be announced later.  

In other decisions, the cabinet decided to exempt payment of tax for vehicles carrying students under the HMVT Act, 2013, to reduce the burden on parents on their children's transportation, the spokesman said, adding this would also improve the financial viability of such vehicles, he said.   

The cabinet also approved the amendment in Section 3 of the Haryana State Legislature (Prevention of Disqualification) Act, 1974, for declaring the post of Political Advisor as a non-profit post.         

The discretionary grant limits of the Chief Minister, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Haryana Assembly, Cabinet Ministers, State Ministers and Chief Parliamentary Secretaries have been enhanced by Rs 50 lakh per year to expedite completion of pending development works, he said.      

Now, after the enhancement, the discretionary grant limit of the Chief Minister would be Rs 22.5 crore per annum, the Speaker Rs 3.25 crore, the Deputy Speaker Rs 2.5 crore, cabinet ministers Rs 3.25 crore each, state ministers Rs 2.5 crore, and Chief Parliamentary Secretaries will get Rs 1.75 crore per annum respectively, the spokesman said.

The cabinet also approved the proposal of the Rural Development and Panchayats Department for raising loan amounting to Rs 368.4 crore for providing financial assistance to beneficiaries under the Priyadarshini Awaas Yojana (PAY).       

Loan will be raised for one lakh beneficiaries under PAY at a rate of Rs 81,000 each and for 40,000 beneficiaries under Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY) at a rate of Rs 11,000 each, the spokesman said.        

The meeting approved the ordinance for the establishment of Ashoka University in Sonepat, Al Falah University in Faridabad and BML Munjal University in Gurgaon for development and advancement of higher education in varied streams, he said.     

These three universities are expected to implement efforts of the government to expand higher education and provide enhanced options to students seeking education in varied streams, the spokesman said.   


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp