Tripura Minister Resigns After Being Elected MP

Published: 21st May 2014 02:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 21st May 2014 02:48 PM   |  A+A-


AGARTALA:Tripura Commerce and Industries Minister Jitendra Chowdhury has resigned following his election as an MP from Tripura East (ST) constituency on CPI-M ticket.

Chowdhury submitted his resignation to Chief Minister Manik Sarkar yesterdaym, which has been sent to Governor Devanand Konwar, Information and Culture Minister Bhanu Lal Saha told the reporters today.

He was first elected as an MLA from South Tripura district in 1993 and was a minister holding different portfolios for the last 21 years. Besides Industries and Commerce, Chowdhury also had the portfolio of Rural Development, Forest and Information and Technology (IT) at the time of resignation.

"As an MP, I will work for protecting the interests of the toiling masses in the country and always remain active to get the demands of the state conceded," he told reporters.

Naresh Jamatiya, an MLA (CPI-M) from Killa-Bagma constituency, would be inducted as a minister in Chowdhury's place, official sources said.

Chowdhury will leave for New Delhi on May 26.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp