Speaker Post: BJD Proposes Pujari

Published: 25th May 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2014 01:02 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: Ending all speculation, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Saturday proposed the name of former Minister Niranjan Pujari for the post of Speaker of the 15th Odisha Legislative Assembly. Election for the post will be held on May 26.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced Pujari as the new Speaker. Pujari will succeed Pradip Kumar Amat, who has taken over as the new Finance Minister. “It has been decided that Niranjan Pujari will be the Honorable Speaker of the Assembly,” Naveen told media.

Naveen proposed Pujari’s name before the Assembly Secretary while Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh seconded the proposal. Election for the Speaker, which will be held on Monday, will be a mere formality because Pujari is to be elected unopposed. While the BJD has won 117 seats in the Assembly, the Congress tally has been reduced to 16 and the BJP has won from ten Assembly seats.

The Chief Minister picked Pujari’s name among a number of contenders for the prestigious post of Speaker of the Assembly. Those in the race included president of the Biju Mahila Janata Dal and former Minister Pramila Mallik, former Ministers Mangala Kissan, Bed Prakash Agrawal and Padmanabha Behera and party MLA Nrusingha Charan Sahu.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp