Moderate to Brisk Polling in Maharashtra, Haryana

Elections were being held today to Maharashtra and Haryana assemblies and among the early voters were NCP\'s Ajit Pawar, former deputy chief minister, MP Supriya Sule and Pratibha Pawar in Baramati, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council Vinod Tawde in Mumbai and BJP\'s Pankaja Munde in Beed.

Published: 15th October 2014 10:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th October 2014 01:15 PM   |  A+A-


MUMBAI/CHANDIGARH: Elections were being held today to Maharashtra and Haryana assemblies with moderate to brisk polling recorded in the first couple of hours.

People were queuing at polling stations before the voting began at 7 AM amid tight security to elect the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly.

Among the early voters were NCP's Ajit Pawar, former deputy chief minister, MP Supriya Sule and Pratibha Pawar in Baramati, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council Vinod Tawde in Mumbai and BJP's Pankaja Munde in Beed, where by-election is also being held for Lok Sabha seat following the death of her father Gopinath Munde in a road accident.

Among Bollywood celebrities Rekha and Abhishek Bachchan cast their votes in the morning.

4,119 candidates are in the electoral fray, including to 276 women in the state with 8.35 crore voters eligible to exercise their right to franchise.

Nearly seven per cent turnout was recorded till 10 AM in Haryana, according to the state's Chief Electoral Officer, Shrikant Walgad. 1,351 candidates, including 116 women, are contesting on 90 seats in the state. The state has over 1.63 crore voters, including 87.37 lakh women.

Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda was among the prominent people who cast their vote early this morning.

Voting will continue till 6 PM. Counting of votes is on October 19.

The riveting contest in the two states is being seen as the first major test of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's popularity after the Lok Sabha polls and he had spearheaded the BJP campaign in both the states.

Maharashtra's established political formations -- Shiv Sena-BJP and Cong-NCP -- split ahead of the polls and the parties are contesting alone after 15 years. Congress and NCP had ruled the state for 15 years from 1999.

In Haryana too, the BJP junked its allies and is hoping to get majority on its own to dislodge Congress that has been ruling the state for the last 10 years.

Polling was marred by rains in some parts of Vidarbha in Maharashtra. A policeman on election duty was killed after being struck by lightning in Avdeghat polling station of Savner constituency.

Former chief minister Prithviraj Chavan cast his vote in Karad in western Maharashtra, from where he is a candidate.

State BJP president Devendra Fadnavis, a front runner for chief ministerial post in case BJP comes to power, also cast his vote.

Other Bollywood personalities who went to polling booths in Mumbai early today were Jaya Bachchan, Amol Palekar and Atul Kulkarni. Cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar also cast his vote.

In Haryana, barring glitches in EVM machines at a couple of places, polling was going on smoothly.

However, BJP candidate from Narnaund assembly segment, Abhimanyu, alleged that attempts to capture booth were made in Baas village in the constituency at behest of INLD, which denied the charge.

Walgad said supervisory teams are keeping an eye on polling parties and would report from time to time during polling to their concerned senior officers.

Constant vigil was being maintained on persons and vehicles in all border areas of Haryana. Teams of flying squads were patrolling to ensure smooth conduct of elections.

Also Read

If a Tea-seller Can Head a Country, I Too Can Become CM: Uddhav 

Stakes High for BJP in Maharashtra, Haryana Polls

Congress, NCP Won't Get More Than 10 Seats Each: Modi

Wipe Out NCP, Congress From Maharashtra: Modi

BJP May Not Get Majority in Maharashtra, Haryana: Survey 

Raj Thackeray Tops Online Popularity as Chavan, Fadnavis Trail

Shiv Sena Attacks BJP, Dubs Congress, NCP as Dead Snakes

Maharashtra Campaign: Modi Connects with Fishermen

BJP Will Win Comfortably in Haryana: Sushma Swaraj

BJP Will Form Majority Government in Maharashtra: Modi

As Long as I'm in Delhi, No One Can Split Maharashtra: Modi

Gadkari Rules Out Return to Maharashtra Politics 

BJP, Congress Knock EC Door with Charges

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp