Voting Begins for Kairana Assembly Bypoll in Uttar Pradesh

Voting is being held today for by-election to Kairana Assembly constituency.

Published: 15th October 2014 12:54 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th October 2014 12:54 PM   |  A+A-


MUZAFFARNAGAR: Voting is being held today for by-election to Kairana Assembly constituency.

Returning officer Suresh Kumar Mishra said that polling began on a peaceful note.

Eight candidates are in the fray and 2,82,130 people including 1,26,194 women are eligible to exercises their franchise.

275 polling booths have been set up. The eight candidates include Anil Chouhan of BJP, Samajwadi Party's Nahid Hasan and Arshad Hasan of Congress.

The seat fell vacant after BJP MLA Hukum Singh was elected to Lok Sabha.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp