BJP Set to Rule Haryana

This is the first time that the BJP is likely to come to power in the state on its own.

Published: 19th October 2014 11:15 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th October 2014 12:46 PM   |  A+A-


CHANDIGARH: The BJP Sunday said it will form the government in Haryana with early trends indicating it was winning in 48 of the 90 seats. This is the first time that the BJP is likely to come to power in the state on its own.

The party started on a winning note with the first result being declared in Haryana going to its kitty.

Veteran BJP leader Anil Vij won from the Ambala Cantt seat by a convincing margin of 15,462 votes.

"We will form the next government in Haryana. We will get two-thirds majority," BJP leader Abhimanyu said in Hisar.

The ruling Congress, staring at a rout, drew solace with the result of the Jhajjar (reserved) seat going in its favour. Education minister and Congress candidate Geeta Bhukkal won the seat with a margin of 26,854 votes.

If the BJP wins a clear majority in the assembly, this will be an achievement given the fact that the BJP had won only four assembly seats in the 2009 assembly polls.

BJP in-charge Haryana Kailash Vijayvargiya: "People of Haryana wanted a change. Our party cadres and leaders worked very hard. The credit for our success has to go to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah."

On the question of BJP having too many candidates aspiring to be the next chief minister in Haryana, Vijayvargiya said: "The party will collectively decide the next chief minister. He will be someone who will be acceptable to all sections in Haryana."

A party needs to win 46 seats to get a simple majority in the house.

Election officials counting the mass of votes polled Oct 15 said the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was clearly ahead of its two main rivals, the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the ruling Congress.

The INLD was ahead of others in 21 seats and the Congress in 14. The Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) and others led in three and five seats respectively.

Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda was leading from his Garhi Sampla-Kiloi seat.

Union minister Sushma Swaraj's sister Vandana Sharma was also leading from the Safidon seat.

INLD leader and Hisar MP Dushyant Chautala was trailing over BJP candidate Premlata Singh by over 4,000 votes in the high-profile Uchana Kalan assembly seat.

Counting of votes for the 90 seats in Haryana began Sunday morning to decide the fate of 1,351 candidates, including 116 women.

A record 76.54 percent of Haryana's 1.63 crore electorate voted in the assembly polls this time.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp