Mumbai: Congress Gets Severe Drubbing, MNS is Wiped Out

Published: 19th October 2014 08:24 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th October 2014 08:24 PM   |  A+A-


MUMBAI: Congress, which had bagged 17 of the total 36 Assembly constituencies in Mumbai in 2009, fared miserably this time, managing to retain only five seats.            

BJP won 15 and Shiv Sena 14 seats. MIM and Samajwadi party won one seat each, while Raj Thackeray-led MNS drew a blank in the megapolis.    

Former Women and Child Welfare Minister Varsha Gaikwad (Congress) retained her Dharavi seat. She polled 47,718 votes against Shiv Sena's Baburao Mane, who bagged 32,227 votes.

Former Health Minister Suresh Shetty (Congress) lost in Andheri-East and had to be content with third position, polling 37,929 votes. Shiv Sena's Ramesh Latke won with 52,817 votes.          

Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council Vinod Tawde (BJP) won from Borivali with a massive margin of over 70,000 votes. He polled 1,02,778 votes, defeating his nearest rival Uttam Agarwal of Shiv Sena got 29,011 votes.

In Mumbadevi, Congress candidate Amin Patel retained his seat polling 39,188 votes against BJP's Atul Shah who got 30,675 votes.          In the suburbs, Aslam Sheikh of Congress retained Malad-West, polling 56,574 votes against BJP's Ram Barot who polled 54,574.   

In Wadala, Congress's Kalidas Kolambkar retained his seat by a slender margin. He was locked in a fierce tussle with BJP's Mihir Kotecha, who got 37,740 votes, against Kolambkar's 38,540. Sena's Hemant Doke got 32,080 votes.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp