M L Khattar Sworn in as Haryana CM

Published: 27th October 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th October 2014 08:55 AM   |  A+A-

PANCHKULA: Manohar Lal Khattar took oath as Haryana Chief Minister here on Sunday, leading the first BJP Government in the state. He is the fifth non-Jat Chief Minister of the state and the first in the last 18 years. Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki administered the oath of office and secrecy to Khattar along with six Cabinet ministers and three ministers of state at a mega ceremony  here.

The six other Cabinet ministers sworn in are  Haryana BJP president Ram Bilas Sharma, party’s national spokesman Captain Abhimanyu, Kishan Morcha president Om Parkash Dhankar, Anil Vij, Rao Narbir Singh and Kavita Jain.

Three Ministers of State with independent charge are Vikram Singh Thekedar, Krishan Kumar Bedi and Karan Dev Kamboj. A first-time MLA from Karnal, Khattar, 60, has a four-decade-long association with the RSS and BJP. Born in Rohtak district, Khattar, a bachelor who once wanted to become a doctor, contested his first Assembly elections from Karnal during this Assembly polls and won by a margin of 63,736 votes. He joined the RSS as a full-time ‘pracharak’ in 1980 and after 14 years of service to the Sangh, Khattar was moved to the BJP as party general secretary in Haryana in 1994. He is also known to be close to Modi.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Modi, Rajnath Singh, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, Power Minister Piyush Goyal,  Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu, Food Minister Ram Vilas Paswan, Minister of Shipping and Transport Krishan Pal Gujjar, Minister of Women and Child Development Maneka Gandhi, Minister of State of External Affairs V K Singh and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers Ananth Kumar.

CMs of BJP-ruled states -- Madhya Pradesh’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Vasundhara Raje of Rajasthan and Gujarat CM Anandiben Patel were present.  BJP president Amit Shah, former deputy prime minister L K Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and other top leaders of the saffron party also attended the ceremony. Punjab CM  Parkash Singh Badal also attended the ceremony. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp