Omar Not to Contest from Family’s Traditional Ganderbal Seat

Published: 31st October 2014 11:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 31st October 2014 11:43 PM   |  A+A-

SRINAGAR: The Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah will contest Assembly elections from Sonwar  and Beerwah instead of family’s traditional Ganderbal seat in central Kashmir.

“National Conference’s Parliamentary Board under the chairmanship of  working president  Omar Abdullah met today and cleared 22  names for Assembly elections of which 15 will contest from Kashmir and remaining from Jammu region,” NC’s General Secretary Ali Mohammad Sagar said.

Omar had won 2008 elections from Abdullah family’s traditional Ganderbal seat after losing his maiden Assembly elections from the same place in 2002 to PDP’s Qazi Mohammad Afzal.

Nearly after four decades none of the Abdullah family member will be contesting from Ganderbal.

Omar’s grandfather and NC founder late Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah contested and won elections from Ganderbal in 1975 and 1977. Omar’s father Farooq Abdullah had won elections from Ganderbal  in 1983, 1987 and 1996.

Omar was the first person from Abdullah family  to lose election from Ganderbal.

Ganderbal is also known as “King’s seat” because it used to give Chief Minister to the State.

Instead of Omar, NC has given mandate to Sheikh Ashfaq Jabbar to contest from  Ganderbal. He is a former Congress man, who had fought 2008 Assembly elections against Omar and lost, Now he will be contesting against PDP’s Qazi Mohammad Afzal.

Sonawar constituency, one of the constituency from which Omar will be contesting, is considered as NC’s safe seat . It is being represented in the Assembly by NC’s Mohammad Yasin Shah while Beerwah is represented by PDP’s Mohammad Shafi Wani in the Assembly.

Omar’s uncle and firebrand NC leader Mustafa Kamal will contest from Gulmarg Assembly seat in North Kashmir. He represented Hazratbal constituency in Srinagar in the Assembly.

From Hazratbal seat, NC has given mandate to Mohammad Sayeed Akhoon. Former NC MP Dr Mehboob Beg, who lost last parliamentary elections from South Kashmir’s Anantnag-Pulwama seat to PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, will be contesting from Anantnag seat.

NC also nominated  Aga Syed Mehmood from Pattan seat, Ali Mohammad Dar from Chadoora, Ghulam Nabi Ratanpuri (M) from Pulwama,  Peer Afaq (sitting MLA) from  Zadibal, Sheikh Rafi from Shopian,   Mohammad Ashraf Ganai from Sopore,  Kafeel-ur-Rehman from Karnah,  Mohammad Abdullah Wani from Bandipora, Wali Mohammad from Langate,  Mirza Abdul Rashid from Rajouri,  Riyaz Bhaderwahi from  Bhaderwah,  Sansar Chand from Chenani,  Ch Salaam Din from Inderwal,  Sureinder Singh Bunty from Gandhi Nagar,  Ms Shakti Bala from Chhamb and  Dr Shamshad Shan from Gool-Arnas.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp