Bihar Transfers 44 IPS Officers Ahead of Polls, Calls it Routine

Published: 01st August 2015 03:36 PM  |   Last Updated: 01st August 2015 05:52 PM   |  A+A-


PATNA: In a major rejig ahead of the Assembly polls in Bihar, the government today transferred 41 IPS officers, gave additional charge to two and promoted one to the rank of Director General (DG).

The transfers were effected in the run-up to the proposed visit of a high-profile Election Commission (EC) team, led by Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi, on August 7 and 8 to assess ground situation and to discuss poll preparations with state government officials. A majority of transferred police officials are of (Superintendent of Police) SP or Commandant rank.

A notification released by the state Home department said that Additional Director General (ADG) Ravinder Kumar, currently posted at Vigilance Investigation Bureau (VIB) has been promoted to the post of DG. Bihar Military Police (BMP) Inspector General (IG) Ajitabh Kumar has been given additional charge of IG (Security) at Special Branch, while Patna range Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Shaleen has been given additional charge of BMP (Central zone). DIG Pradeep Kumar Shrivastava, who was waiting for posting, has been given the charge of DIG (Muzaffarpur zone).

In the districts, SPs of Saharsa, Madhubani, Khagaria, Gopalganj, Bettiah (West Champaran), Sheikhpura, Katihar, Bagaha (West Champaran), Naugachhia (Bhagalpur), Araria, Kaimur, Supaul, Sheohar, Nalanda, Rohtas, Jamui, Siwan, Arwal, Madhepura, Sheohar, Bhagalpur, Samastipur and Muzaffarpur have been shifted while the rest are Sub-Divisional Police Officers (SDPOs) posted in various districts.

Among those transferred include SP Siddharth Mohan Jain of Nalanda, the home district of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. He has been shifted to Katihar as SP, while Vivekanand, Additional SP (City) of Patna has been asked to take charge as Nalanda SP. Majority of the districts where transfers have been effected are in North Bihar, which witnessed a surge for BJP in the Lok Sabha elections last year, but is also counted as traditional boroughs of ruling JD(U) and its ally RJD.

Assembly elections are slated to be held in October-November in the state but the final dates are yet to be announced.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp