FTII Students won 11 National, 6 International Awards in Last 3 Years: Government

Published: 11th August 2015 04:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th August 2015 04:47 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Students of Film and Television Institute of India (FTII), where a strike is currently on in protest over the chairman's appointment, have won 11 national awards and six international awards in the last three years, the government today said.

In a written reply to a member's question in Rajya Sabha, Information and Broadcasting Minister said that FTII students have won two national awards in 2012, five in 2013 and four such awards in 2014.

Gautam Nair won the 'Rajat Kamal' at the 59th National Awards while Renu Savant won a 'Special Mention' certificate in 2012. In 2013, Vikrant Pawar won two awards for 'Kaatal' while Kaushal Oza and Andrea Iannetta, too, figured among the winners.

In 2014, 'Chidiya Udh' got Pranjal Dua the 'Best Direction Award' while Gautam Nair got the 'Rajat Kamal' in the Best Audiography category. Kavin Jagtiani won a Rajat Kamal for cinematography at the 61st National Awards.

Amongst international awardees, Gaurav Shimpi won 'Special Jury Award' at the Kyoto International Student Film and Video Festival for 'Chubak'. Five other students -- Anurag Goswami, Andrea Ianetta, Vikrant Pawar, Sahil Bhardwaj and Manoj Nitharwal, too, won international awards.

Students at FTII have been boycotting classes since June 12 demanding the removal of newly-elected chairman Gajendra Chauhan, a BJP member best known for playing Yudhishtir in popular tele-serial 'Mahabharat', saying that he lacks "academic credentials, vision and stature" to head the premier institute.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp