Only BS-IV Compliant Vehicles From October Onwards: Government

Government today said only Bharat Stage IV-compliant vehicles will be sold and registered from October onwards in seven states.

Published: 19th August 2015 06:54 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th August 2015 06:54 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Government today said only Bharat Stage IV-compliant vehicles will be sold and registered from October onwards in seven states, and emission standards will come into force in the entire country by April 1, 2017.

With this, only those newly manufactured four-wheeled vehicles, which are complaint with BS-IV vehicle emission standards will be allowed to be registered and ply on roads with effect from the notified dates in the notified areas.

The Ministry of Road Transport & Highways today issued a notification that only "Bharat Stage IV (BS-IV) compliant four wheeler vehicles will be manufactured on and from October 1, 2015" in Jammu & Kashmir, barring Leh and Kargil, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, parts of Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh.

The districts covered under Rajasthan include Hanumangarh and Sri Ganganagar while in Uttar Pradesh, districts of Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnaur, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Rampur, Muradabad, Aligarh, Badaun, Bareilly, Mathura, Mahamayanagar, Etah, Agra, Firozabad, Etawah, Mainpuri, Pilibhit, Shamli, Sambhal, Farrukabad, Kannauj, Auriya and Kasganj will come under the ambit of new emission norms.

The BS-IV emission norms will be applicable in five more states of Goa, Kerala, Karnataka, Telangana and Odisha, and April 1, 2016 onwards it will be Union territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.    

Some districts of Mumbai, Gujarat and Maharashtra will also be covered under BS-IV norms from April 1, 2016, the ministry said in a statement.

The districts in Maharashtra include Thane and Pune while Gujarat districts include Surat, Valsad, Dangs and Tapi.

"From April 1, 2017 the mass emission standards for Bharat Stage IV shall come into force all over the country," the statement said.

It said BS IV grade fuel has already been made available in the National Capital Region and the cities of Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Ahmadabad, Bangalore, Hyderabad including Secunderabad, Kanpur, Pune, Surat, Agra, Lucknow and Sholapur with effect from April 1, 2010.

Twenty additional cities were added for BS IV grade fuel supply from October, 2014 while 30 more cities were included from April, 2015.

"These specifications will further reduce the emissions of Carbon Mono-oxide(CO), Hydrocarbon (HC), Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) and Sulphur (SOx)which are much less in BS-IV fuel as compared to BS III fuel," the government said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp