Net Neutrality Panel: Derek Anguished Over Non-inclusion, Questions Selection Criteria

Published: 31st December 2015 08:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 31st December 2015 08:35 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI:Trinamool Congress MP Derek O'Brien has questioned the criteria adopted by a parliamentary committee to choose members of a sub-committee on the net neutrality issue and voiced anguish over his non-inclusion in the panel.

Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information Technology Anurag Thakur, however, countered the objection of the Trinamool Rajya Sabha MP, saying he never indicated his "preference" to be on the sub-committee on net neutrality.

O'Brien wrote to Thakur saying his name has not been included in the list of members of Sub-Committee-II on Ministry of Communications and Information Technology examining net neutrality.

"I have actively led the discussion of net neutrality in the House, and raised a Calling Attention on this issue in May this year... I urge you to reconsider the membership of this Sub-Committee in light of my keen interest and consistent participation in Committee meetings on this topic," he wrote to Thakur.

He also demanded information on the criteria to appoint members to the sub-committee. "It would also be helpful if you could inform me of the criteria used to make membership decisions for sub-committees," he said.

But Thakur made it clear that O'Brien had not given his preference to be a member of the sub-committee on net neutrality.

"In the absence of specific preference from the member in the present term of the Committee, he was chosen to continue as a Member of the Sub-Committee-I on Ministry of I&B," Thakur said in a press statement.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp