AAP Supremo Wins Delhi Battle; Kiran Bedi Loses

Arvind Kejriwal displayed clear cut majority in New Delhi constituency and eventually won the seat while Bedi who showed majority till the last moment finally lost the seat from Krishna Nagar constituency.

Published: 10th February 2015 01:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th February 2015 01:56 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal won from the posh New Delhi Assembly constituency while BJP's chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi lost from the Krishna Nagar constituency.

AAP has so far won the seats of New Delhi, Ambedkar Nagar, Badarpur, Chattarpur, Chandni Chowk, Janakpuri and Babarpur.

Kejriwal won the New Delhi seat with a margin of 31,58 votes defeating BJP's Nupur Sharma while Congress' former minister Kiran Walia was at the third position.

In a major victory for the party, AAP candidate from Krishna Nagar, S K Bagga defeated Kiran Bedi by 2277 votes.

 While AAP candidate from Janakpuri, Rajesh Rishi defeated BJP stalwart Jagdish Mukhi by a margin of over 25,000 votes, former DUSU president and AAP candidate Alka Lamba won from the Chandni Chowk seat defeating her nearest rival BJP's Suman Kumar Gupta by more than 18,287 votes.

BJP opened its account with its first seat coming from the Rohini constituency where Vijender Gupta defeated AAP's CL Gupta by around 5,369 votes.

In the Ambedkar Nagar constituency, AAP's Ajay Dutt defeated BJP's Asok Kumar by a margin of more than 40,000 votes. Kumar, an incumbent AAP MLA from the seat joined BJP last year and was given the ticket by the party.

In Chhatarpur, AAP's Kartar Singh Tanwar defeated BJP's Brahm Singh Tanwar. In the Badarpur seat, AAP's Narayan Dutt Sharma defeated BJP's Ramvir Singh Bidhuri by a margin of 47,583 votes.

Babarpur was won by AAP's Gopal Rai defeating BJP's Naresh Gaur.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp