Kejriwal Defeats BJP's Nupur Sharma by Over 31,000 Votes

Published: 10th February 2015 01:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th February 2015 01:35 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal today handed down a crushing defeat to BJP's Nupur Sharma by 31,583 votes from the prestigious New Delhi constituency.         

While Kejriwal bagged 57,213 votes, Sharma could manage 25,630 votes. Former Delhi Minister and Congress leader Kiran Walia finished a distant third with 4,781 votes.       

In the 2013 Assembly polls, Kejriwal had made a stunning electoral debut by defeating Delhi's three-time Congress Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.    

The AAP chief bettered the margin of his victory this time as he had defeated Dikshit by 25,864 votes.   

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp