17 Post Graduates, 29 Graduates among 70 Newly-Elected MLAs

Published: 11th February 2015 08:28 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th February 2015 08:28 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Seventeen newly-elected MLAs in the 70-member Delhi Assembly including AAP's Manish Sisodia and Rakhi Birla are post graduates while five have their education below matriculation level.

According to the affidavits filed with Election Commission, another five MLAs have mentioned their educational qualification as 10+2 pass.

The number of graduates is 29 who include Chief Minister- designate Arvind Kejriwal, Alka Lamba, Som Dutt, Satyendra Jain, Rajesh Rishi, Ved Prakash, Asif Ahmed Khan and Imran Hussain.

The post-graduates also include AAP's Gopal Rai, Somnath Bharti and BJP's Vijender Gupta.

Hazari Lal Chauhan, who defeated former Union minister Krishna Tirath in Patel Nagar, studied till class IX while Mohd Ishraque who won from Seelampur, only went to a primary school.

AAP MLAs Naresh Balyan, Raju Dhingan and Avatar Singh had studied till class IX, according to their affidavits.

Mahender Yadav who won with the highest margin from Vikaspuri is a matriculate.

With similar educational credentials is Mustafabad MLA Jagdish Pradhan, one of three legislators from BJP. Others in the category include Sahi Ram (Tughlaqabad), Manoj Kumar (Kondli), Sharad Kumar (Narela) and Mahinder Goyal (Rithala).

Fourteen of the legislators among those who emerged victorious yesterday had studied till class XII.

While AAP leader Vishwesh Rai who defeated current North Delhi Mayor and BJP candidate Yogender Chandolia from Karol Bagh constituency, has enrolled for a graduate programme, rest 13 had listed clearing senior secondary examination as their highest qualification in the affidavits.

S K Bagga, who defeated BJP's chief ministerial nominee Kiran Bedi from party's traditional bastion Krishna Nagar, has a Masters in Commerce along with a Bachelors in Law.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp