Delhi Polls: BJP Announces 21-member Election Committee

Published: 14th January 2015 12:18 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th January 2015 12:18 AM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: BJP MPs Harsh Vardhan and Meenakshi Lekhi are among the 21-member Election Committee which will oversee the party's campaign for the February 7 Assembly polls in the national capital.


The Election Committee, which was announced today, will have an important role to play in forming the poll strategies.                

The committee, to be headed by Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay, has all seven Delhi MPs -- Vardhan, Lekhi, Pravesh Sahib Singh Verma, Udit Raj, Manoj Tiwari, Ramesh Bidhuri and Mahesh Girri.               

Apart from these MPs, Rajya Sabha member and former Delhi BJP president Vijay Goel, senior party leader Jagdish Mukhi, Vijay Kumar Malhotra, councillor Ashish Sood, Vijendra Gupta, Mange Ram Garg, Kamal Jeet Sehrawat are among the leaders who have been included in the party's Election Committee.       

Upadhyay also involved party leaders R P Singh, Dr. Anil Jain, Shyam Lal Garg, Rekha Gupta and Shyam Lal as special invitee in the committee. Filing of nomination papers for coming Delhi elections begins tomorrow.        

The last date for filing nominations is January 21. The date of scrutiny is January 22, while candidates can withdraw from the electoral battle by January 24.   

Counting of votes for the election to the 70-member Assembly will be held on February 10, ahead of the expiry of President's Rule which was imposed in the national capital on February 15 last year.       

In last Assembly polls in Delhi in 2013 December, BJP had bagged 31 seats in addition to one by its ally SAD, falling short of a simple majority in the 70-member House. AAP had won in 28 seats, followed by eight of Congress.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp