Stage Set for 1st Phase of Polling for 49 Bihar Seats Tomorrow

Published: 11th October 2015 11:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 11th October 2015 11:41 AM   |  A+A-


BJP President Amit Shah with HAM S chief Jitan Ram Manjhi and LJP President Ramvilas Paswan during a press conference regarding Bihar elections in new Delhi on September 14. | PTI


 PATNA: After high pitch bitter campaigning which saw Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the rival camps led by Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad holding a string of rallies, the stage is set for voting in 49 seats of Bihar Assembly elections in the first phase of the five-phase poll tomorrow.      

Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshamanan said that a total of 1,35,72,339 electorate are eligible to decide the fate of 583 candidates for the 49 seats in 10 districts in the first phase of elections.         

Lakshamanan said voting would start from 7 AM. While in majority of seats polling would end at 5 PM, in some constituencies time has been cut short to 4 PM and 3 PM on the basis of law and order situation feedback in the Naxal-hit areas, he said.           

Out of a general electoroate of 1,35,72,339 there are 72,37,253 men, 63,17,602 women and 405 of third gender.         

Lakshamanan said out of a total of 583 candidates in the field, there are 54 women nominees.           

BSP, which does not have much influence in Bihar, has fielded a maximum of 41 candidates among the 49 seats.            

BJP has fielded 27 candidates in the 49 seats followed by JD(U) 24, RJD 17, LJP 13, Congress 8 and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party 6 and Hindusthani Awam Morcha 3.

Left front is trying to make significant inroads in the poll on the basis of combined strength of six parties - CPI, CPI-M, CPI-ML, Forward Block, SUCI (C) and RSP.        While CPI has fielded 25 candidates, CPI-M has fielded 12 in the first phase.  

Lakshamanan said tight security arrangements have been put in place to ensure peaceful polling in 13212 polling stations in the first phase.            

Bihar will go for polls in a five phase election from October 12 and end on November 5. Counting of votes will take place on November 8. The term of the current 243-member Bihar Assembly expires on November 29.          

There would be 80,000 to 90,000 polling personnel. Every polling station would be manned by the Central Para Military Force, he said adding drone and helicopter would also be put in service.            

Voting in 49 seats would take place in the backdrop of high decibel campaign which ended on Saturday evening. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah headed the BJP poll blitzkreig. Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, J P Nadda joined state leaders Sushil Kumar Modi and Nand Kishore Yadav to spread BJP message among people.           

Rival campaigns revolved around Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and RJD chief Lalu Prasad. Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi came to the state for one day each to add muscle to the secular alliance prospects.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp