Security Cover of Former Ministers, Meira Kumar Withdrawn by Centre

Two former Chief Justices of India are among more than 30 VIPs whose security cover have been withdrawn by the Central government.

Published: 03rd September 2015 08:46 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd September 2015 08:46 PM   |  A+A-

meira_kumar_AP 1

NEW DELHI: Eight family members of former Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, two former Chief Justices of India are among more than 30 VIPs whose security cover have been withdrawn by the Central government.

Former Telecom Minister A Raja, who is also an accused in the 2G scam, former Jammu and Kashmir Governor Lt Gen (retd) S K Sinha and NHRC chairperson K G Balakrishnan names also figure in the list whose security was either withdrawn or downgraded by the Central government.

Security cover given by central forces to Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Kerala Governor and former Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam and Uttarakhand Governor K K Paul were also withdrawn as they have been given security cover by the respective state governments.

A total of eight family members of Shinde are no longer eligible for security cover given by central forces. They are: Shinde's wife Ujwala, daughters Praniti and Smruti, son-in-law Raj Shroff, two grand daughters and two grand sons. All of them got security when Shinde was Union Home Minister.

A Home Ministry official said that the decision has been taken after a thorough security review of each of the individual and considering their current threat perception.

Others whose security cover has been withdrawn include former Union Ministers Subodh Kant Sahai, V Narayanasamy and Jitin Prasada, Principal Secretary to former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, T K A Nair, former MP and industrialist Naveen Jindal, former National Conference MP Abdul Rashid Shaheen and R K Dhawan, close aide of late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Former Delhi Lt Governor Tejendra Khanna, former Solicitor General Gopal Subramaniam, former Rajya Sabha MP Rishang Keishing, former Manipur Governor V K Duggal's son Sunil, V Narayanasamy's daughter-in-law Yamuna, former Home Secretary Anil Goswami and former Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth also figure in the list.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp