NDA Finalises Bihar Seat-sharing, Announcement Soon 

Published: 12th September 2015 02:42 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th September 2015 04:06 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: After a series of discussions, the NDA on Saturday finalised seat sharing agreement with its allies for the upcoming Bihar assembly polls, sources said.

According to sources, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) may contest 162 seats which is a major chunk in the 243-member house -- leaving 81 seats for its three allies -- LJP, HAM and RLSP.

A maximum of 41 seats was likely to go to Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), followed by 25 seats to Upendra Kushwaha's Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP), and 15 seats to former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular), according to informed sources.

Also Read: MIM Decides to Contest Bihar Polls

Final announcement is expected to be made by BJP president Amit Shah in presence of all its ally partners on Saturday evening.

Sources also said that five candidates of Manjhi may fight on BJP ticket as a compromise formula.

Union Minister and party's election-in-charge in Bihar Anant Kumar said, "We will fight together. Everything has been finalised."

"In the evening," said Kumar when reporters asked when will be the announcement be made.

Polls to the 243-member Bihar assembly will be held in five phases starting on October 12 and ending on November 5. Counting of votes will take place on November 8.

Paswan on Saturday met Amit Shah with his son Chirag Paswan, while Manjhi met Ananth Kumar, who is election in-charge of Bihar.

The meetings were also attended by the BJP's general secretary in-charge of Bihar Bhupendra Yadav.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp