HAM Names 13 Candidates in First List for Bihar Polls

Manjhi will contest from Makhdumpur assembly constituency in Jehanabad district.

Published: 18th September 2015 05:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th September 2015 05:35 PM   |  A+A-


PATNA: The Hindustan Awami Morcha (HAM) of former Bihar chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi on Friday released its first list of 13 candidates for the assembly polls.

Manjhi will contest from Makhdumpur assembly constituency in Jehanabad district.

"The HAM has finalised candidates for 20 seats but we are releasing the first list of 13 candidates on which we got clearance from all the allies in the National Democratic Alliance," HAM spokesperson Danish Rizwan said.

HAM state president Shakuni Choudhary will contest from Tarapur, and former ministers Brishen Patel from Vaisali, Anil Kumar Singh from Tekari, Shahid Ali Khan from Sursand, Ajit Kumar from Kanti, and Mahachander Singh from Gopalganj.

The list also includes names of leaders like Naushad Alam from Darbhanga rural seat, Ravinder Rai from Mahua, Rajesh Kumar from Khagaria, Rajeshwar Manjhi from Phulwarisharief, Rahul Kumar from Ghosi and Santosh Kumar from Kutumba.

The BJP will contest 160 seats in the 243-member Bihar assembly, the Lok Janshakti Party 40 seats, HAM 20 seats and the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party 23 seats.

Bihar will witness five-phased elections between October 12 and November 5. Counting of votes will take place on November 8.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp