SP Teams Up With Pappu, NCP, 3 Others to Form Third Front

SP announced that it teamed up with five parties, including NCP JP to form a third front for the Bihar assembly polls in Oct-Nov.

Published: 19th September 2015 09:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th September 2015 09:56 PM   |  A+A-


PATNA: The Samajwadi Party today announced that it had teamed up with five parties, including NCP and Janadhikar Party of Pappu Yadav to form a third front and also reached a seat sharing agreement among themselves for the Bihar assembly polls in October-November.

The leaders of six parties - SP, NCP, Janadhikar Party of Pappu Yadav, Samras Samaj Party (SSP) of former Union minister Nagmani, NPP (Nationalists Peoples Party) of former Speaker P A Sangma and Samajwadi Janata Party (SJP) of former Union minister Devendra Prasad Yadav - held a joint press conference to announce the launch of the third front.

As per seat-sharing among parties on 243 seats, Mulayam Singh Yadav's SP would contest 85 seats, Pappu Yadav's Janadhikar Party 64, NCP 40, SSP 28, SJP 23 and NPP 3.

SP secretary-general Kiranmoy Nanda told reporters that the third front would be named as "Socialist Secular Morcha".

Mulayam Singh Yadav would be the head of the front while elections would be fought under the leadership of NCP general secretary and Katihar MP Tariq Anwar, Nanda said.

The coming together of SP, NCP and Pappu Yadav has added muscle to the new front which has the potential to give enough jitters to the grand secular alliance of JD(U), RJD and Congress.

Nanda and others claimed that the front also enjoyed support of two other parties - Awami Insaf party and Sarvjan Kalyan Party - though no seat has been given to them.

Asked if Tariq Anwar would be the chief ministerial candidate of the third front, Nanda said the CM candidate would be chosen by MLAs of the front after the poll.

In reply to a question to Tariq Anwar that he was against any tie-up with Pappu Yadav's party, the NCP general secretary said the party did not have any aversion to Pappu Yadav and they had been having talks in the past also.

Devendra Yadav's SJP was launched only two days back after he quit Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) of Jitan Ram Manjhi accusing the former CM of "surrendering" before the BJP in seat-sharing.

In addition to the third front, six Left parties comprising CPI, CPM, CPI-ML, Forward Block, SUCI and RSP have already formed a separate front in the Bihar poll.

Hyderabad MP Asauddin Owaisi's AIMIM has also announced that it will fight elections in four Muslim - dominated districts of Seemanchal area comprising of 24 Assembly seats.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp