EC Issues Notification for Second Phase of Bihar Elections

A total of 32 Assembly seats would witness elections in the second phase on October 16.

Published: 21st September 2015 08:29 PM  |   Last Updated: 21st September 2015 11:15 PM   |  A+A-


PATNA: The Election Commission today issued notification for second phase of elections to the Bihar Assembly.

A total of 32 Assembly seats would witness elections in the second phase on October 16. Last date for filing of nominations for second phase of elections was September 28. Additional Chief Election Officer R Lakshmanan told reporters that four nominations were filed for the second phase on the opening day today.

Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) chief and former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi filed his nomination for Makhdumpur (reserved SC seat) on today. He submitted his nomination paper to the Sub Division Officer of Jehanabad, Ram Ishwar.

Also Read: Four IAS Officers Transferred in UP

The second phase of elections would be held on 32 seats in six districts of the state - Jehanabad, Arwal, Rohtas, Kaimur, Aurangabad and Gaya, all Maoist-hit areas.

According to statistics provided by the EC, there are 85,86,704 electors on 32 seats in the second phase out of which there are 45,71,805 male, 40,14,585 female and 314 third gender voters. There would be 8,849 polling stations during this phase and the last date of filing nominations is September 28.

The second phase of elections in Bihar would see keen contests in constituencies like Makhdumpur (reserved SC seat) and Imamganj (reserved SC seat) where former Chief Minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha chief Jitan Ram Manjhi is in the fray.

In Imamganj reserved seat in Gaya, Manjhi would take on the Speaker of outgoing Assembly Uday Narayan Chaudhary, a Nitish Kumar loyalist.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp