Jammu and Kashmir CM Mehbooba Drops Four Party Ministers

Sources said Mehbooba dropped Bukhari for his closeness to BJP camp during the over two month long stalemate.

Published: 04th April 2016 12:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 04th April 2016 02:00 PM   |  A+A-

Mehbooba PTI

File photo | PTI

SRINAGAR: Taking everybody by surprise, PDP chief Mehoboba Mufti, who took over as first woman chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir on Monday, dropped four party ministers including a senior leader.

Mehbooba dropped Altaf Bukhari and Javed Mustafa Mir, who were cabinet ministers in late Mufti Sayeed’s 10 month long government. Both are senior leaders.

Bukhari is party treasurer and represents Amira Kadal constituency in Assembly while Javed Mustafa Mir represents Chadoora constituency. He won three elections in a row from Chadoora.

Besides, Mehbooba also dropped two former MoS in Mufti-Sayeed’s cabinet – Mohammad Ashraf Mir and Abdul Majid Padder.

Mir had defeated former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah from Sonawar constituency in Srinagar.

Sources said Mehbooba dropped Bukhari for his closeness to BJP camp during the over two month long stalemate on government formation between allies PDP and BJP in the State.

They said Mehbooba was not happy with his behavior and “in order to maintain discipline in the  party”, she dropped her from the cabinet.

Sources said Bukhari had been conveyed that he would no longer be part of the government.

The new faces inducted by Mehbooba in the cabinet includes Zahoor Ahmad Mir and Syed Farooq Andrabi. Mir is three time MLA while Andrabi is the maternal uncle of Mehbooba.

BJP drops two ministers

The BJP dropped two ministers Sukhnanadan Kumar and Pawan Gupta. Sukhnandan was cabinet minister and Gupta Mos during Mufti Sayeed’s government.

They were replaced by Choudhary Sham Lal and Ajay Nanda.

Sukhnandan represented Marh constituency while Pawan Gupta, who won Udhampur constituency as an independent candidate but later pledged support to the saffron party.

Ministers from PDP

Abdul Rahman Veri, Ghulam Nabi Lone, Abdul Haq Khan, Syed Basharat Bukhari, Dr Haseeb Drabu, Chaudhary Zulfiqar Ali, Syed Naeem Akhtar, Imran Raza Ansari, Aasiya Naqash, Syed Farooq Ahmad Andrabi, Zahoor Ahmad Mir.

Ministers from BJP

Nirmal Singh, Chander Prakash, Bali Baghat, Lal Singh, Tsering Dorjee, Sham Lal Chaudhary, Abdul Gani Kohli, Sunil Kumar Sharma, Priya Sethi, Ajay Nanda.

Separatist-turned-mainstream politician Sajad Gani Lone was also inducted in the cabinet from the BJP quota.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp