Mehbooba Allocates Portfolios to the Council of Ministers

Mehbooba distributed portfolios to council of ministers who were sworn in along with her by NN Vohra at Raj Bhawan.

Published: 05th April 2016 01:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th April 2016 08:05 AM   |  A+A-

Mehbooba Oath PTI

Jammu and Kashmir Governor NN Vohara talks with New Chief Minister of the state Mehbooba Mufti after taking Oath at Raj Bhawan in Jammu on Monday. | PTI


JAMMU: Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti has distributed the portfolios to her council of ministers who were sworn in along with her by Governor NN Vohra at Raj Bhawan here today.

Complete List of JK's Council of Ministers 

BJP leader and Deputy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh has been given the portfolio of Power Development, Housing and Urban Development.

Other BJP leaders, Chander Parkash Ganga got Industries and Commerce, Bali Bhagat Health and Medical Education, Lal Singh Forest, Ecology and Environment, Chering Dorjay Cooperatives, Sham Lal Choudhary Public Health Engineering, Irrigation and Flood control and Abdul Gani Kohli got Animal, Sheep Husbandry and Fisheries.

Sajjad Gani Lone of Peoples Conference got Social Welfare, ARI and Training from the BJP quota.

PDP leader Abdul Rehman Veeri was given the Public Works and Parliamentary Affairs portfolio.

Other PDP leaders, Ghulam Nabi Lone got Agriculture Production, Abdul Haq Khan Rural Development and Panchayati Raj and Law and Justice, Syed Basharat Ahmed Bukhari Revenue, Relief and Rehabilitation.

Haseeb A Drabu of PDP got Finance, Culture and Labour and Employment, Chowdhay Zulfikar Ali, also of PDP, got Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution and Tribal Affairs, Naeem Akhtar Education and Imran Raza Ansari Information Technology, Technical Education and Youth Service and Sports.

Mehbooba PTI.jpg 

PDP leader Asiea Naqash, who was sworn in as Minister of State (MoS), got Housing and Urban Development, Social Welfare, Health and Medical Education, Farooq Ahmed Andrabi Haj and Auqaf (independent charge) PHE and Irrigation and Flood Control, Power Development and Industries and Commerce whereas Zahood Ahmed Mir got Forest, Ecology and Environment, Animal and Sheep Husbandry, Cooperative and Fisheries.

Minister of States from BJP quota are: Sunil Kumar Sharma Science and Technology and Transport (Independent Charge), Revenue, Public Works (Roads and Buildings), Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Agriculture Production, Youth Service and Sports.

Also Priya Sethi got Education, Technical Education, Culture, Tourism, Horticulture, Floriculture and Parks, while Ajay Nanda got Finance and Planning, Information Technology, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution, Tribal Affairs, Relief and Rehabilitation and Labour and employment.

All other departments including Home and Tourism and others which have not been assigned to any of the ministers has been kept by the Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti with herself.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp