NC leader Iftikhar Hussain quits mainstream politics, to join 'freedom struggle'

Misgar\'s announcement was received with cheers and pro-freedom and anti-India slogans by the crowd.

Published: 31st July 2016 11:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 01st August 2016 12:15 AM   |  A+A-

SRINAGAR: In the first instance of its case in the ongoing unrest in the valley, a senior opposition National Conference leader Iftikhar Hussain Misgar, who recently unsuccessfully contested Assembly election from Anantnag constituency against J&K Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, on Sunday evening publicly announced to resign from his party and mainstream politics and join “freedom struggle”.

“I am quitting NC and mainstream politics. I pledge my support to the ongoing freedom struggle,” Misgar announced while addressing a gathering near his home in Cheeni Chowk area of South Kashmir’s Anantnag district this evening.

“I apologize to the people for being a part of the mainstream camp so far,” he said. His announcement was received with cheers and pro-freedom and anti-India slogans by the crowd.

Misgar himself also chanted anti-India slogans including “Bharat Ka Jo Yaar Hai Gaddar Hai Gaddar Hai (The friend of India is traitor), “Hum Leke Rahenge Azadi” (We will get freedom), “Bharat Ke Aiwanon Ko Aag Laga Do (Lets set afire the Indian constitution”.

Kashmir is facing unrest and at least 53 people including two policemen have died and over 5500 including 3000 civilians injuries in clashes between security personnel and youth during protests triggered by killing of 21-year-old Hizb commander Burhan Wani on July 8.

The life in Valley has remained crippled for 23 days after Burhan’s killing due to curfew and restrictions imposed by authorities and shutdown called by separatists.

Misgar said he had already given up his security. “By late evening, I will officially write to the authorities to withdraw my security. My security is my people”.

He had unsuccessfully contested against Mufti Muhammad Sayeed from the Anantnag Assembly constituency in 2014 Assembly elections on NC ticket. He lost the election to Mufti Sayeed, who took over as Chief Minister of PDP-BJP coalition government in March 2015 and died in January this year.

Misgar also unsuccessfully contested the by-elections of Anantnag constituency in June this year against Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp