Congress' bad week continues as it loses 7 of its 10 MLAs in Left-ruled Tripura

In Left-ruled Tripura, the Congress suffered a major blow on Tuesday when six of its MLAs joined the TMC.

Published: 08th June 2016 05:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 08th June 2016 05:42 AM   |  A+A-


GUWAHATI: In Left-ruled Tripura, the Congress suffered a major blow on Tuesday when six of its MLAs joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC). Worse still, another Congress MLA resigned and applied for CPI-M membership. The defections brought the Congress tally in the 60-member Assembly from 10 to three. The Left Front has 50 legislators.

Former Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee president Sudip Roy Barman was among those who defected to the TMC. The group gave a letter to Speaker Ramendra Debnath informing him of their decision. The six — Asish Saha, Pranjit Singha Roy, Dilip Sarkar, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl, Bishwa Bandhu Sen, besides Barman — joined the TMC in the presence of party vice-president Mukul Roy. Jitendra Sarkar of Congress had on Monday applied for CPM membership and quit as MLA. But the letter to the Speaker bore his signature. Later, he said: “I was made to sign under pressure.”

Trouble has been brewing in the Congress since its poll alliance with the Left Front in Bengal. Barman protested the tie-up but as nothing happened, he quit as the Leader of the Opposition.

The developments come barely a week after Roy’s visit to Agartala. He was sent by TMC chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee as her emissary. Tripura is now the second Northeast state where TMC has a presence in Assembly. In Manipur, it has four MLAs. CPI-M’s Manik Sarkar has been CM since 1998. Congress has never won more than 13 seats in the last five elections.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp