BJP's MJ Akbar, Anil Dave; Congress' Tankha elected to RS from MP

BJP candidates M J Akbar and Anil Dave and Congress\' Vivek Tankha were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh.

Published: 11th June 2016 08:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th June 2016 08:00 PM   |  A+A-


BHOPAL: BJP candidates M J Akbar and Anil Dave and Congress' Vivek Tankha were today elected to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh, while an independent candidate backed by BJP was defeated.

BJP's bid to spoil the Congress candidate's chances by fielding BJP leader Vinod Gotia as an independent candidate did not bear fruit. Gotia got 50 votes--48 surplus votes of BJP and two independents--against the required 58.

Senior journalist M J Akbar and state BJP leader and strategist Dave polled 58 votes each, while Tankha secured 62 votes--57 from Congress, four from BSP and one independent, returning officer Bhagwandas Israni said.

BSP supremo Mayawati had issued a whip to its four MLAs to vote for Tankha.

The strength of Madhya Pradesh Assembly is 230. A total of 228 MLAs--164 of BJP, 57 of Congress, 4 of BSP and 3 independents--cast votes.

BJP MLA Rajendra Dadu died in a road accident on June 9, while the Supreme Court restrained another of its MLAs, Rajendra Meshram from voting following a petition.

BJP also threw its weight behind Gotia. To counter the move, senior Congress leaders Kamal Nath, Mohan Prakash, Sushil Kumar Shinde, AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh  and former Union Minister Suresh Pachouri were camping here to keep the party's flock together.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp