Congress wins lone RS seat from Uttarakhand

Out of 57 vacant RS seats, voting will take place for 27 seats today as 30 candidates were declared elected unopposed.

Published: 11th June 2016 06:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th June 2016 11:11 PM   |  A+A-


Polling is being held today in the crucial election to 27 Rajya Sabha seats in seven states, with a keen contest on cards in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka and Haryana.

While 30 of the total 57 seats in the current round of biennial elections to the Upper House have already been decided without a contest, the fate of candidates for the remaining seats is yet to be announced.

Latest updates:

9.41 pm: The party was shocked by the behaviour of the 14 MLAs who apparently got their votes invalid by marking the ballot with a wrong pen. Read More

8.55 pm: Union minister Birender Singh was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha from Haryana while BJP backed-Independent candidate and media baron Subhash Chandra. Read More

8.45 pm: Rebellion by Congress MLAs in Haryana helped BJP-backed Independent candidate Subhash Chandra score an upset victory. Read More

8.36 pm: Union Minister Nirmala Seetharaman and Congress' Jairam Ramesh, Oscar Fernandes and K C Ramamurthy won Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka. Read More

8.26 pm: Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar bagged the two Rajya Sabha seats for BJP from Jharkhand. Read More

8.09 pm: Social activist Sambhaji Raje Chhatrapati, a descendant of Maratha King Chhatrapati Shivaji, was nominated to Rajya Sabha. Read More

7.56 pm: BJP candidates M J Akbar and Anil Dave and Congress' Vivek Tankha were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh. Read More

7:23 pm: All 7 Samajwadi Party candidates win in Uttar Pradesh Rajya Sabha polls, BSP gets 2, BJP and Congress 1 each.

7:15 pm: Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Congress' Jairam Ramesh and Oscar Fernandes elected from Karnataka.

7:06 pm: BJP's M J Akbar and Anil Dave and Congress' Vivek Tankha elected to Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh: official sources.

6:58 pm: Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar of BJP win the two Rajya Sabha seats from Jharkhand, says state BJP chief whip and minister C P Singh.

6:42 pm: All 199 out of 200 MLAs in Rajasthan cast their votes. BSP MLA B L Kushwah was not allowed by the high court to cast his vote as he is in judicial custody.

6:28 pm: All four BJP candidates, including union ministers M Venkaiah Naidu, elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan. Congress-backed Independent candidate Kamal Morarka defeated. READ MORE

6:08 pm: Cong wins lone RS seat from U'khand, defeating BJP-backed candidate: Congress’s Pradeep Tamta today defeated Independent candidate Anil Goel to win the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand and become the first Dalit from the hill state to make it to the Upper House of Parliament. READ MORE

6:38 pm: In Karnataka, 8 JD(S) MLAs indulge in cross-voting: In a loss of face, eight JD(S) MLAs, defying the party whip, today voted against its official candidate and supported Congress in the biennial elections to fill four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka.

"8 MLA's have voted against JD-S in today's Rajya Sabha  election in favour of Congress. Tomorrow in the party's meeting, we are going to take action against them according to provisions of the party constitution," JD-S spokesman Ramesh Babu said.

The rebel MLAs who cross-voted are Zameer Ahmed Khan, Chaluvaraya Swamy, Iqbal Ansari, Balakrishna, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda, Gopalaiah, Bheema Nayak and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy, Babu said, admitting the loss much before polls ended. READ MORE

BJP lawmaker accuses SP MLAs of not allowing to vote in RS polls: The Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha witnessed uproar over voting for 11 Rajya Sabha seats on Saturday, as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) dubbed  Samajwadi Party (SP) legislators as "acting like goons".

Krishna Paswan, BJP legislator from Khaga assembly constituency accused the SP MLAs of not letting her vote to in the House. READ MORE

Polling for lone RS seat from Uttarakhand concludes: Polling for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand was held amid tight security at the state Assembly here today with Chief Minister Harish Rawat and Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal among the first to cast their votes.

Polling which began at 9 AM concluded at about 12:20 PM, much before its scheduled conclusion at 4 PM. However, counting of ballots will begin after 4 PM, Secretary Vidhan Sabha Jagdish Chandra said. READ MORE

MP begins voting for three RS seats: Voting for the three RS seats from Madhya Pradesh in which two BJP candidates senior journalist MJ Akbar and Anil Dave and Congress nominee Vivek Tankha are in the fray, began today with MLA Ramniwas Rawat casting the first ballot at the State legislative assembly here.         

After Rawat who is the Congress chief whip in the State Assembly, BJP MLA Girish Gautam cast his vote. In the polling, 228 members of the House are expected to take part. The election that began here at 9 AM will end at 4 PM after which the counting of votes is scheduled to begin at 5 PM, RS returning officer in MP Bhagwandev Israni told PTI. READ MORE

Haryana begins voting on two RS seats: Voting began for two Rajya Sabha seats in Haryana here today which are falling vacant in August, with three candidates including Union Minister Birender Singh in fray.         

The Haryana Assembly has 90 members and polling will be held between 9 AM to 4 PM today. Yesterday, the Congress had announced support for INLD-backed Independent candidate and lawyer R K Anand for one of the seat in the biennial elections being held today. READ MORE

Rajasthan begins polling for four RS seats: Leader of opposition Rameshwar Dusi cast the first vote followed by former chief minister Ashok Gehlot, the assembly spokesperson said. In the house of 200, the ruling BJP has 160 members and Congress 24. National Peoples Party has four, BSP has three, National Unionist Zamindara Party has two and seven are independents. 

Union minister Venkaiah Naidu, BJP's national Vice President Om Prakash Mathur, former RBI official Ramkumar Sharma and member of erstwhile Dungarpur royal family Harsh Vardhan Singh are the BJP candidates whereas Kamal Morarka filed nomination papers as independent candidaate. READ MORE


(With inputs from agencies)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp