Rajya Sabha mathematics changes, BJP still short of numbers

After Saturday’s polls, the NDA has raised its tally by five and now has 74 members in the House of 245.

Published: 13th June 2016 04:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th June 2016 04:30 AM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI: Despite having a slight edge over the United Progressive Alliance after the current round of Rajya Sabha polls, the National Democratic Alliance still lacks the majority it needs to push crucial legislation and may have to depend on regional parties who remain key players.

After Saturday’s polls, the NDA has raised its tally by five and now has 74 members in the House of 245. On the other hand, the Congress-led UPA has 71 members, down by three.

Regional players have 89 members. Their combined strength remains unaltered after the elections. The Samajwadi Party now has 19 members, with a gain of four seats, while the JD(U) and the RJD have a combined strength of 12.

The Trinamool Congress and the AIADMK too have 12 members each, followed by BSP (6), CPM (8), BJD (7) and the DMK (5).Thus, with regional players remaining crucial, the government may now seek their support to pass crucial reform bills such as the Goods and Services Tax Bill.

On June 3, 30 candidates were elected to the Upper House unopposed. The NDA managed to add 11 of its members (BJP 7, TDP 2, Shiv and Shiromani Akali Dal one each) to its Rajya Sabha tally. While the UPA could send five members to the Upper House (Congress four and NCP one) unopposed.

The other parties — JD-U (2), RJD (2), AIADMK (4), DMK (2) and BJD (3) — were able to send 13 members to the Rajya Sabha unopposed.

In Saturday’s polls held to the remaining 27 seats, the BJP won 12 seats — two in Haryana, one in Uttar Pradesh, four in Rajasthan, two in Madhya Pradesh, one in Karnataka and two in Jharkhand.

Congress, on the other hand, won six seats — one each in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand and three in Karnataka.

Out of 11 seats in Uttar Pradesh, the SP won seven seats, BSP two, BJP and the Congress one each. The House also has 12 nominated members. In the Rajya Sabha bypoll necessitated following the demise of Congress member Praveen Rashtrapal from Gujarat in May, the BJP wrested the seat.

Current seat tally

NDA 74

UPA 71

Samajwadi Party 19

Trinamool Cong  21

AIADMK               12

RJD-JD(U)            12

CPM                    12

BSP                       8

Biju Janta Dal       7

DMK                     5

Total                 245


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp